About Us

By Wiktel


Clergy: Pastor Michael Schendel
Parish Secretary:
 Nina Platt
Custodians: Lee Bukowski
Jody Paulson & Renee Jensen


President: Patsy Heggen

Vice President: Nic Thompson

Secretary: James Parks

Treasurer: Ellen Anton

Board of Trustees:  Gannon Nelson & Jeff Noel

Board of Deacons:  Michelle Weberg and Kris Ann Pietruszewski

Board of Stewardship: Kathy Wright & Jami Nelson

Board of Parish Education: Alana McGlynn & Michaela Sustad

Trust Fund Committee:  Beth Kroulik, Sharon Kotts, Fanny Schaeffer, Pat Heggen, Ellen Anton, and Pastor Mike Schendel

Nominating Committee:
Congregation: Gail Frei, Jeff Nelson, Beth Kroulik
Council: Pat Heggen, 2 open seats

St. Petri Cemetery Committee: John Jensen, Gary Hoper, Brian Jensen & David Jensen

Usher Coordinator: Deanna Swendseid

Pathways Delegate: Melanie McGlynn

Conference & Synod Assembly Voting Members:  Open



First Lutheran Church’s roots stem back to the 1880s. On February 27, 1891, a congregation was formally organized.

The cornerstone of the present church was laid on October 31, 1948, with the addition of a Parish Education Building being completed in 1957.

Sunday morning worship services are at 9:00 A.M. with Sunday School being held at 10:15. Each Sunday following Worship, we have fellowship with coffee and refreshments. Sunday School is held September through May, not during the summer months. Holy Communion is usually served the first and third Sundays of each month.

Special events include our Ecumenical Thanksgiving Service, Sunday School Christmas program, Christmas Eve Candlelight Service, the Harvest Festival, Lenten worship services, Lenten breakfasts and studies for the men and women, baptisms, Confirmation, weddings and Bible studies.

First Lutheran Church helps sponsor Patrick and Jackie Bencke, missionaries in Japan. People’s Church of Bemidji, MN is our Mission Partner Congregation.

We have various organizations in our congregation for our members to participate in. These include Youth League, Martha-Ruth Circle, Naomi Bible Study, Servant Groups, Altar Committee, Church Council, and the Quilters.